Thanks to Sandhills Community College Workforce Continuing Education, you can learn new job skills as a new season begins. Starting in April, you can become certified in motor or emission inspections or learn to drive an escort vehicle. Courses for certification in forklift operating, CPR, and becoming a public notary will also be offered. Take advantage of the new season and add additional skills to your resume.


In "Auto Safety Inspection," students will be certified to inspect motor vehicles under the NC Motor Vehicles Safety Inspection Law. You must have a valid driver's license for this class. Held Monday and Tuesday, April 3, from 6–10 pm, this class will cost $75.

"Escort Vehicle Operator" meets the training requirements set by the NC Department of Transportation to certify oversized-overweight load escort vehicle drivers. Students must have a valid driver's license without restrictions other than the use of corrective lenses, must not have a DWI or reckless driving within the previous 12 months, and must be 21 years of age (can be 18 with a Class A commercial driver's license). All initial applicants must complete a 2- or 4-hour defensive driving course approved by the National Safety Council. Held Tuesday, April 18, from 8 am–5 pm, this class will cost $75.

"OBD Emissions Control Inspection" certifies students to inspect motor vehicles under the NC Motor Vehicles OBD Emissions Control Inspection Law. The prerequisite for this class is Certified Auto Safety Inspection. This is also a Recertification Class. Held Monday and Tuesday, April 17 and 18, from 6–10 pm, this class will cost $75.


"Forklift Operator" will allow students to earn the National Safety Council's (NSC) lift truck operator certification by successfully completing this class. The minimum age is 18. Held on Thursday, April 27, from 8:30 am-4 pm, this class will cost $77.50. An additional class will be offered on Friday, April 28, from 8 am-Noon.


"Notary Public" is required for anyone interested in becoming a Notary Public for the first time. It is recommended for all notaries as a refresher course. It is strongly recommended that you study the guidebook before class to better prepare for the state examination at the end of the class. Note: The current edition of The Notary Public Manual for North Carolina, March 2016, ISBN: 978-1-56011-851-0, is required for admittance to the class and can be purchased at the SCC bookstore or on Amazon.

NCGS 10B-5(b) provides the following requirements to be commissioned as a Notary Public in NC: 1) Be at least 18 years of age or legally emancipated as defined in Article 35 of Chapter 7B of the General Statutes; 2) Reside or have a regular place of work or business in this state; 3) Reside legally in the United States; 4) Speak, read, and write the English language; 5) Possess a high school diploma or equivalent; 6) Pass the course of instruction described in this Article, unless the person is a licensed member of the North Carolina State Bar; 7) Purchase and keep as a reference the most recent manual approved by the Secretary that describes the duties and authority of notaries public; 8) Submit an application containing no significant misstatement or omission of fact. Students must provide current state or federal picture identification for admission to class. Active-duty military and civilian ID cards do not meet the identification requirement.

"Notary Public" will be held on Tuesday, April 18, from 8 am-6 pm. This class will cost $75 plus the cost of the text.


“CPR for Healthcare Providers” is for healthcare professionals who need to know how to perform CPR and other lifesaving skills in various in-hospital and out-of-hospital settings. Held on Saturday, April 15, from 8:30 am-12:30 pm, this class will cost $50 plus a $5 card fee.


Seats are still available for these Continuing Education classes and do not require an application. To register, call Continuing Education at (910) 695-3980 between 8 am and 5 pm Mondays through Thursdays and 8 am-Noon on Fridays. All major credit cards are accepted. Pre-register at Pre-registration must be made two days before the start date of the class.

Summer Semester

Summer semester curriculum (college credit) Sessions A and B begin on May 23, and Session C starts on June 27. Workforce Continuing Education classes begin on various dates throughout the summer. 

Summer semester curriculum classes are open to current, returning, and new students. Local students attending colleges outside of the area are welcome to take courses this summer at SCC. Credits can transfer back to the university, saving students time and money. New students can apply online, and an advisor will assist in registering for classes. Current or returning students may register using Self-Service or by meeting with their Advisor. For all information, go to

Boys & Girls Club

Sandhills is now the location of a new Boys & Girls Club. Summer camp will run June 19 thru August 11 from 7:45 am – 5:45 pm for rising first graders through rising sixth graders. Early drop-off services are available. The cost is $140 per child and covers the entire summer. Registration is open from April 10-14, and you can register your child at

In addition, drop-in services will be available free of charge to Sandhills students from 6–9 pm. This is ideal for students taking evening classes, working on group projects, or for other academic reasons. For more information or to register for the drop-in services, contact Edith-Ann Jackson at or 910.638.6502.

CCP Classes for High School Students

Moore and Hoke County High School students can take classes at SCC as juniors and seniors. Those completing the required number of CCP credits qualify for the Sandhills Promise. This program offers two full years of classes immediately following high school graduation at no cost. For all information, go to: