University Studies


Transfer Programs

The University Studies Program is designed for students enrolled in the Associate in Arts (A.A.), Associate in Science (A.S.), Associate in Engineering (A.E.), Associate in Fine Arts (A.F.A.), Associate in Arts in Teacher Preparation (A.A.T.P) or Associate in Science in Teacher Preparation (A.S.T.P.) degree that want to continue their education as juniors at a university. Please use the links on the left to access your degree requirements.

The transfer programs offered at Sandhills Community College fall under Comprehensive Articulation Agreements or Uniform Articulation Agreements between the North Carolina Community Colleges and universities of the UNC system. For a list of Articulation Agreements, please go to Transfer Resources. On that Transfer Resources page, you will also find other useful information that will help you transfer to a UNC university.


East Carolina University Pirate Promise Agreement

East Carolina University (ECU) and Sandhills Community College (SCC) signed a co-admission agreement, the Pirate Promise Agreement, that offers qualified SCC students guaranteed admission to ECU. The requirements to apply for Pirate Promise include completion of the degree at SCC, carrying a minimum of 12 credit hours per semester, and a cumulative 2.5 minimum GPA. View a complete list of requirements and students benefits of the Pirate Promise Agreement.

Please note that the Pirate Promise Program is not associated with the Sandhills Promise Program or NC Promise.


UNC Pembroke BraveStep Program

The BraveStep program creates a pathway for prospective UNCP students to begin their college career at SCC and transfer to UNCP after completing at least 30 credit hours. Qualified students will be co-admitted to SCC and UNCP and have the opportunity to use UNCP campus facilities and participate in co-curricular activities. These students will participate in North Carolina’s Reverse Transfer Program so they can obtain an associate degree from SCC with the credits earned from UNCP.


UNC Chapel Hill C-Step Program

If you are particularly interested in transferring to UNC-Chapel Hill and are early in your degree with us, please read about the C-STEP program to see if you qualify.


UNC Wilmington Pathway to Excellence Program

This program is a partnership between UNC Wilmington and Sandhills Community College. It is a pathway for guaranteed admission to UNCW for students completing an Associate of Arts, Associate of Science, or Associate of Engineering with a cumulative GPA of at least a 2.5 (on a 4.0 scale) in transferable, college-level coursework from Sandhills Community College. Guaranteed admission to the university does not constitute admission to a professional school or specific program. Students entering the pathway will be expected to indicate their plan by submitting their letter of intent to UNCW Transfer Admissions. A digital letter of intent is also available and can be submitted online. As part of the Pathway to Excellence Guaranteed Admission, UNCW also offers Transfer Merit Scholarships of $1,500 to $3,000 to Associate in Arts and Associate in Science students.

If you have questions, contact the Transfer Student Success Coordinator at UNCW.


North Carolina State University College of Agriculture and Life Sciences (CALS)

SCC students who intend to earn their Associate degree and who are interested in pursuing a major in agriculture or life sciences at North Carolina State University, must successfully complete the Associate in Science at Sandhills Community College by taking the courses listed here.

SCC students who want to transfer into selected programs at CALS can also apply to the PackTrac program. Note that Packtrac only accepts first-semester community college students who have completed less than 20 credit hours of college work.


Other Transfer Opportunities


Contact Information Pinehurst Campus

Academic and Program Information

Professor Catherine Skura, University Studies Coordinator
(910) 695-3750
207-208 Stone Hall

Associate in Engineering Degree Program

Professor Jeanne Morse
(910) 695-3762
104 Meyer Hall

Associate in Fine Arts in Theatre

William (Bill) Saunders
(910) 695-3874
010 Kennedy Hall

Associate in Fine Arts In Visual Arts

Professor Lori Lorion
(910) 695-3879
002 Kennedy Hall

Associate in Fine Arts in Music

Professor Ryan Book
(910) 695-3828
126 Wellard Hall

Associate in Teacher Preparation

Associate Professor Susan Sheets
(910) 695-2745
230 Logan Hall

C-STEP Program

Professor Matthew Dial
(910) 695-3960
218 Meyer Hall


Professor Catherine Skura, University Studies Coordinator
(910) 695-3750
207-208 Stone Hall


Contact Information Hoke Campus

Rosa McAllister-McRae, Director, Student Services Hoke Center, Personal Counselor
112 Johnson Hall, Hoke Center