Skip to content

SCC Announces 2021 Student Awards

Flyers Statue outside Dempsey Student CenterEach year Sandhills Community College recognizes students who have distinguished themselves in their area of study. This year, the Awards Day ceremony was presented in a video format. To view the ceremony, visit the college’s YouTube channel. Congratulations to these students on a job well done. The following is each award followed by the recipient.

Computer Engineering Technology Award (1st Yr): Areli Moreno Tamalatzi, Computer Engineering Technology Award (2nd Yr): Kevin McCombs, The Caddell Family Computer Engineering Technology Award: Jacob Phillips, The Southern Software Computer Programming Award: Grant Reddinger, Networking Administration Support Faculty Award: Laque Franklin, Computer Programming Award: Drew Marquez, Digital Media Technology Award: Kaitlyn Johnson, and Digital Media/Program Support Award: Kelly Steiner.

The Charles “Chuck” Gilmer Priest, Jr. Memorial Culinary Award: Terence Sharpe, The Culinary Faculty Award: Alexssandra Rodriguez, and The Melissa Wilkins Richardson Pastry and Baking Arts Award: Nicola Bonair.

Engineering and Construction Technologies Excellence and Opportunity Award: Joseph Aaron Brown, John G. O’Brien Engineering Technology Transfer Award, Carson Witherspoon, Julie Wilkins Batchelor of Civil Engineering Award: Mya Sencenbaugh, The Gary Thompson Surveying Technology Award: Easton Wall, The Reynold S. Davenport Civil Engineering Technology Award: Eli Barnes, The James M. and Helen C. Smith Memorial Award: Kelly Sheffield, The James M. and Helen C. Smith Memorial Award: Jacob Motta, The James M. and Helen C. Smith Memorial Award: Melissa Veatch, The Timothy Howle Architectural Technology Award: Melissa Chen, and The Sustainable Research and Design Project Award: Megan Robbins.

The John and Grace Hoad Award: Charlie Taylor, The John and Grace Hoad Award: Jacob Phillips, The John Hatcher Foreign Language Award: Poston Frank, The L. Henry Pierre Delarue Award: Christine Berry, The C.A.L.M.S. Humanities Award: Terri Shannon Davis, The Thomas Andrew Coffey Spanish Award: Senff Isabelle, and Communication Faculty Award: Samuel P. Smith, and Communication Faculty Award: Austin Ward.

The Frances Price Wilson Excellence in Music Award: Corrine Collison, Patricia Robinson Memorial Art Award: Hayden Stanley Martinez, and Jane Wellard Award: James Miller.

The Bill Byrtus Outstanding Respiratory Therapy Award: Hayden Martinez, Wall & Brown Respiratory Therapy Award: Morgan Groff, The Michael D. Emery Student Excellence Award in Radiography: Leona Payne, and The Department of Radiography Clinical Award: Heriberto Sanchez-Ugarte.

Business Booster Award: Sarah Alsaidi, Business Faculty Award: Tabatha Clish, Lieutenant Colonel John W. Collins OST Award: Dana Garner, Lieutenant Colonel John W. Collins OST Award: Bonifacia (Boni) Deloya, Mary Lea Dixon Entrepreneurship Award: Noah Martin, Anthony E. (Tony) Parker Entrepreneurship Award: Cruz Santiago, and The Stanley J. Bradshaw Business Excellence Award: Odette Zetina.

Mathematic Award: Calvin Ford, and Mathematic Improvement Award: Isabella Gipson.

Massage Therapy Award: Kerri Paschal, and Outstanding Student – Degree Award: Arnetta Sturdivant.

The Health & Fitness Science Faculty Award: Gregorio Cruz Santiago.

Gordon and Dorothy Hill Memorial Award: Sara McCloskey, Nola Arden Manning Memorial Early Childhood Education Award: Minisha Bullard, and Chaplain David Malcolm Criminal Justice Award: Danny R. Perry.

Anatomy and Physiology (1 Yr): Abby Dover, Anatomy and Physiology Award (2 Yrs): Nour Arodak (Keenan), Avery Dennis General Chemistry Award: Nicholas Youngerman, Avery Dennis General Chemistry Award: Thi Nguyen, College Physics Award: Kelly Rhodes, General Physics Award: Alexander May, General Biology Award: Sergio Adan Estrada, General Biology Award: Destiny Darden, General Biology Award: Abby Dover, and Jonathan Willis Malcolm Organic Chemistry Award: Emily O’Brien.

Social & Sciences B-Squared Award: Chelsea Boswell, and Casilear Middleton Memorial Award: Sherry Harmanson.

Aviation Award: Kelsey Nielsen, John C. and Hanni Schulz Automotive Body Repair Award: Jonathan Peele, and John C. and Hanni Schulz Automotive Mechanics Award: Hannah Bowers.

The Floyd McDonald Diversity Award: Michelle Marshall, The Gus Leader Veteran Award: Carroll Dexter, Zihal Super Student Award: Calvin Ford, Rose Anderson Library Award: Henry Baker, The Professional Women’s Network Award: Megan Ramsey, Student Government Association Award 1: Sarah Wilson, and Student Government Association Award 2: Megan Ramsey.

The North Carolina Community College Academic Excellence Award was awarded to Calvin Ford. Only one student from each of the 58 North Carolina community colleges receives the award each year. Students who have a 4.0 GPA and more than 50-hours completed toward their degree are reviewed and considered eligible for the award.

Summer Semester

The summer semester begins on May 25 and June 29 for curriculum classes. Our Continuing Education classes have varied start dates throughout the semester.

Summer semester curriculum (college credit) classes are open to current, returning, and new students. Local students attending colleges outside of the area are welcome to take courses this summer at SCC. Credits can transfer back to the university, saving students time and money. New students can apply online, and an advisor will assist in registering for classes. Current or returning students may register using Self-Service or by meeting with their Advisor.

Fall Semester

A fall semester flightPath publication will be mailed to all Moore and Hoke County homes mid-July and will contain information about the Continuing Education classes set to begin August through December and all curriculum programs.

Curriculum classes will begin on August 16. In addition to the traditional 16-week semester, there will be two eight-week sessions, one beginning August 16 and the second October 14. Students can take a mix of full-semester classes alongside eight-week sessions. These online and hybrid classes can lead to an Associate in Arts degree or three Business Certificates with additional program classes to be added Spring Semester 2022.

CCP Classes for High School Students

High school juniors and seniors can take SCC classes at no cost by enrolling in the Career and College Program (CCP). The program has 47 Career Technical pathways, 13 Continuing Education pathways and 54 college transfer courses. High school students can contact their counselor to learn more or follow the “Programs” link from the college’s home page, then click “High School Programs.”

More Posts
Back to top