Career Development Classes

The Career Development Program at Sandhills Community College is a workforce development program providing skills assessment services, employability skills training, and career development counseling to individuals in transition and the emerging workforce.

Our goal is to assist students in assessing their interests, personality traits, and abilities, in setting career and/or educational goals, and in creating a pathway leading to economic, social, and educational success.

Career Development classes are available to all and may be free for qualified students. Students may also be eligible for a Continuing Education scholarship.

Contact Continuing Education at (910) 695-3766 for more information.

CAREER PLANNING & JOB SEEKING SKILLS

Workshops

Offered in partnership with NCWorks Career Center.

The Career Development Program at Sandhills Community College is a workforce development program providing skills assessment services, employability skills training and career development counseling to individuals in transition and emerging workforce. Cost
$75 (waived for qualified students)

 

Workshop Course Code Format Day Date Instructor
Resume and Cover Letters 2510 Online Thursday June 6 Phil Laton
2511 Online Thursday July 11
Workplace Computer Literacy 2512 Traditional

(NC WORKS Career Center)

Thursday June 2 Ramona Zinnerman
Budgeting 101:Smart Decisions 2514 Online Thursday June 9 Phil Laton
2515 Online Thursday August 18
Work Attitudes and Behaviors 2516 Online Thursday June 23 Phil Laton
2517 Online Thursday August 11
Ace the Job Interview 2518 Online Thursday July 7 Phil Laton
Tips for Mature Job Seekers 2519 Online Thursday June 9 Phil Laton

 

Employability Skills Academy

We will focus on core skills and traits that employers seek. Classes include soft and professional skills.

Cost Instructor Format Time
$75 (waived for qualified students) Ramona Zinnerman Online 11am-

2 pm

 

Course Course Code Day Date
Work Ethics for Todays Jobs 2520 Monday June 6
2521 Monday July 11
Effective Communication Skills for the Workplace 2522 Tuesday June 7
2523 Tuesday July 12
Time Management Skills for Today’s Jobs 2524 Wednesday June 8
2525 Wednesday July 3
Interpersonal Job Skills 2526 Monday June 13
2527 Monday July 18
Developing Team Working Skills for the Workplace 2528 Tuesday June 14
2529 Tuesday July 19
Leadership Skills for Today’s Jobs 2530 Wednesday June 15
2531 Wednesday July 20