THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF SANDHILLS COMMUNITY COLLEGE REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

Sledge Board Room April 19, 2023

<u>PRESENT</u>: Trustees George Little, Chairman; Larry Caddell, Vice Chairman; Joe Clendenin, Secretary; Gary Evans; Irish Pickett; Gene Horne; Vincent Gordon; Tim Carpenter; Catherine Graham; Helen Probst Mills; Connie Lovell; Bruce Hurst

STAFF: Heather Lyons, Danaka Bunch, Matt Dial, Ed Spitler

GUEST: Kennon Briggs

Mr. Little called the meeting to order at 1:57 pm. Mr. Little read the statute regarding conflicts of interest to the Trustees and asked the Board if there were any potential conflicts with the agenda items to be discussed. Hearing none, Mr. Little proceeded to the next item of business.

Mr. Little said this meeting is being recorded for the transcription of the minutes. The recording will not be public record and will be expunged after the minutes are completed.

Mr. Horne made a motion to approve the agenda. Mr. Carpenter seconded the motion, and the motion passed unanimously.

Mr. Caddell asked Mr. Clendenin to make a motion to go into closed session. Mr. Clendenin said in accordance with general statute 143-318.11 the purpose of the closed session is to consider the qualifications of the three applicants for president of Sandhills Community College. The closed session will last three days for the individual interviews. Mr. Clendenin made a motion to go into closed session. Mr. Evans seconded the motion, and the motion passed unanimously.

The Board went in to closed session at 2:08 pm.

The Board came out of closed session at 4:49 pm.

During the closed session, the interview for Dr. Sandy Stewart was conducted by the Presidential Search Committee for approximately 90 minutes. After the interview, Dr. Stewart left the room.

Mr. Horne made a motion to recess the meeting until April 20 at 2:30 pm. Ms. Probst Mills seconded the motion, and the motion passed unanimously.

With no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 4:50 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

George Little, Chairman of the Board

Joseph Clendenin, Secretary of the Board