The cost of attending classes at a community college is still one of the best values in education. The North Carolina General Assembly sets tuition rates for in-state and out-of-state residents and they are subject to change without notice.

2018 Tuition Rates

Credit Hours In-State Out-of-State
1 $76.00 $268.00
2 $152.00 $536.00
3 $228.00 $804.00
4 $304.00 $1,072.00
5 $380.00 $1,340.00
6 $456.00 $1,608.00
7 $532.00 $1,876.00
8 $608.00 $2,144.00
9 $684.00 $2,412.00
10 $760.00 $2,680.00
11 $836.00 $2,948.00
12 $912.00 $3,216.00
13 $988.00 $3,484.00
14 $1,064.00 $3,752.00
15 $1,140.00 $4,020.00
16+ $1,216.00 $4,288.00


Technology Fee: $48.00 per semester.

Student Activity Fee: $35 per semester.

Professional Liability Insurance: An $18 fee for professional liability insurance coverage will be charged for the following courses:
COS 112, 112A, 116, 116A, 118, 118A, 120, 121, 126
[ECA] COE 111, 121, 132
EMS 121,241
[HST] COE 111
MLT 141
MTH 110, 210
NAS 101, 102
NUR 101, 110, 210
PSG 211
RAD 151,251
RCP 132
SUR 111

This coverage is for students taking part in personal service or medical related situations such as clinical experiences.*Note- there may be additional class specific fees *


We have several methods you can use to pay your tuition and fees. If you do not pay the tuition and fees required for your classes by the last day to pay found on the Academic Calendar, your registration is not complete. In addition, the classes for which you have registered will be dropped, and you will need to re-register.

We accept cash, checks, money orders, credit cards, and debit cards.

We use Web Advisor as our secure payment option. (Under the Financial Information tab, Click on View Account and Make Payments.)

We offer in-person payment Monday through Thursday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m and 8:00 a.m. to noon on Fridays.

Drop Box
A Drop Box is located on the outside wall of the Business Office.

You can mail your payment to: Sandhills Community College, Business Office, 3395 Airport Road, Pinehurst, NC 28374.

Refund Policies

State Refund Policy

The refund policy is set by the North Carolina State Legislature and is subject to change by its actions.

A pre-registered curriculum student who officially drops one or more classes prior to the first day of the semester will be eligible for a one hundred percent (100%) tuition refund. The student activity and technology fees will also be refunded if the student officially drops all classes prior to the first day of the semester.

Thereafter, a refund of seventy-five percent (75%) of only the tuition will be made through the ten percent (10%) date of the semester.

Students do not qualify for a refund of fees after the one hundred percent (100%) date.

All tuition will be refunded if a class is canceled.

Refunds will be processed within four weeks of the 10% date.

Students should ensure that their address is correct with the Admissions Office so that they receive their refund check in a timely manner.

Federal Refund Policy

The Federal Refund Policy applies to all students receiving federal financial aid funds, including those who qualify for the state refund policy mentioned above.

This policy requires the school to determine the amount of Title IV aid a student has earned. The earned amount is determined by calculating the number of class days prior to the date of withdrawal. The unearned portion must be returned. This may require repayment by the student of all or part of any federal money that the student received.

Refunds will be allocated by law according to the following order:

Federal Unsubsidized
Federal Subsidized
Federal PLUS

Federal Pell grant

Students may obtain further information regarding these refund policies and refund calculations from the Financial Aid Office located in Stone Hall.

Students are responsible for payment of classes from which they do not officially withdraw.

Schedule Changes After Payments Have Been Made

Your new schedule printout will show the total charges, payment details, and the balance due. If your schedule indicates you owe funds, you must make payment arrangements before the end of the schedule change day. Be sure to compare the amounts and determine whether you owe additional funds or whether funds are owed to you.